Message to USC Faculty

From: Michael W. Quick, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

May 10, 2018

I write to thank the members of the 2016-2017 and 2017-2018 University Committee on Appointments, Promotions, and Tenure (UCAPT) panels. This distinguished group of faculty has provided recommendations to me that are crucial to our university’s commitment to academic excellence.

UCAPT is comprised of seven discipline-based panels, each of which includes interdisciplinary members. The members of UCAPT have devoted a great deal of time to reviewing the approximately 200 dossiers that were considered over the past two years. In accordance with the 2017 UCAPT Manual, I thank them, by name, for their service to the university:

Jan Amend
Janis Brown
Thomas Buchanan
Manuel Castells
Ken Cazan
Casey Chen
Meiling Cheng
Alice Echols
Suzanne Edmands
Peggy Farnham
Michael Fink
Stephen Finlay
Eric Friedlander
Rick Friedman
Dana Goldman
Stephen Gruber
Stephan Haas
Gillian Hadfield
Christopher Haiman
Mark Jonathan Harris
Joseph Hawkins
David Hinton
Judith Hirsch
Pierrette Hondagneu-Sotelo
Velina Hasu Houston
Sherman Jackson
Rajiv Kalia
Anna Krylov
Josh Kun
Jay Lieberman
Akira Mizuta Lippit
Donal Manahan
John Matsusaka
Andrew McMahon
Urbashi Mitra
Mahta Moghaddam
Shrikanth Narayanan
Sergey Nuzhdin
Amy Ogata
Maurice O’Gorman
Joseph Ouzounian
Daniel Pelletier
Hashem Pesaran
Margaret Russett
David St. John
Thomas Seifrid
Ellen Seiter
Kelly Shannon
Gale Sinatra
Elizabeth Sowell
Annie Thompson
Paul Thompson
William Vega
Ruth Wallach
Amy Ward
Richard Watanabe
Suzanne Wenzel
Leonette Williams
Carolee Winstein


Cc: C. L. Max Nikias
Academic Senate
Academic Deans
President’s Cabinet
Provost’s Cabinet